What’s a Class 4 vehicle?

Class 4. This includes most road vehicles: Cars (with up to eight passenger seats) … Private passenger vehicles (up to 12 passenger seats) Goods and services vehicles with a gross weight of up to 3,000kg.

What is a Class 4 MOT test?

What is a class 4 MOT? … The MOT test checks that your vehicle meets road safety and environmental standards. Class 4 MOTs are suitable for: cars, small vans and motor caravans (up to 3,000kg).

Is my van a Class 4?

A Class 4 MOT is your standard MOT test for most cars or vehicles with up to 8 passenger seats. This includes taxis, private hire cars, ambulances, motorhomes, campervans, most vans and smaller commercial vehicles with a weight of up to 3,000 kg.

What’s the difference between Class 4 and Class 7 MOT?

A class 4 MOT is the most common one and the MOT required on all passenger cars, whilst a class 7 MOT is usually carried out on commercial goods vehicles that carry between 3,000 kg and 3,500 kg in weight.

What is a Class 5 vehicle?

What is a Class 5 Vehicle? A class 5 vehicle are those of private passenger vehicles, motor caravans, ambulances and dual-purpose vehicles in all cases with 13 or more passenger seats.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I know if I have a bad engine compression?

How much does a Class 4 MOT cost?

MOT costs

Vehicle class Maximum MOT fee
3-wheeled vehicles (up to 450kg unladen weight) 3 £37.80
3-wheeled vehicles (over 450kg unladen weight) 4 £54.85
Cars (up to 8 passenger seats) 4 £54.85
Motor caravans 4 £54.85

What is a Class 5 truck?

Class 5—This class covers trucks with GVWRs from 16,001 to 19,500 pounds. There are still a few vehicles in this class that straddle the line between non-commercial and commercial use such as Ford’s F-550. However, this class is where more commercial vehicles emerge.

What class of MOT is a motorhome?

For MOT test purposes, your motorhome should be covered by the normal car (class 4) MOT test.

What is a Class 3 MOT?

Class III MOT — 3-wheeled vehicles not more than 450 kg unladen weight (excluding motorcycles with side cars). … Class V MOT — Private passenger vehicles, ambulances, motor caravans and dual purpose vehicles with 13 or more passenger seats. Class VII MOT — Goods Vehicles over 3000 kg up to and including 3500 kg DGW.

Is a Ford Ranger a Class 7?

Single cab Land Rover pick up with a GVW exceeding 3000kg should be tested as a class 7.

Are all motorhomes Class 4 MOT?

Motorhomes are classified as class 4 for Mot purposes. Therefore, in theory, most Mot stations can test these vehicles, however due to the size and weight of these vehicles many testing stations will not have the equipment or facilities to cope with these vehicles.

What class MOT is a 5 ton van?

The class 7 MOT is for bigger goods vehicles weighing from 3,000 – 3,500 KG and it includes larger Transit vans, lorries, high-tops and trucks.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What causes a car to lose all electrical power?

What class is a Vauxhall Vivaro?

A Class 4 MOT is the most common – for the majority of vehicles on the road that carry up to 8 passengers. A Class 7 MOT is conducted on commercial goods vehicles that carry between 3,000 kg and 3,500 kg in weight. In the Vauxhall world this is the Movano or Vivaro LWB or Vivaro Minibus Conversion.

Is my van Class 7?

Class 7 MOTs apply to commercial vehicles that have a gross weight of between 3,000kg and 3,500kg – for example, larger versions of vans like the Mercedes Sprinter and Ford Transit.

What is a Class M1 vehicle?

Category M1 vehicle

A vehicle with four or more wheels used for the carriage of passengers, comprising not more than 8 passenger seats in addition to the driver’s seat. This includes dual-purpose vehicles, motor caravans and ambulances, but does not include quadricycles.

What is an M1 vehicle?

M1. Used for the carriage of passengers, with no more than eight seats in addition to the driver seat, also known as passenger cars.